Dialouges from “The Chronicle of the Mother” #2

Here lies my personal account of a speech given to the 1st Legion by the Champion of the 1st, before his rise to Praetorship. Before his name was written in stars and sprinkled across the galaxy like dust, and the fate he created clogged the lungs of the galaxy. I record this event simply so that others may read it, and understand when I say that men with the deepest conviction of there own power are both fools and gods.

-Mother

“Have you seen the rivers of fate, winding through the canyons of time with unprecedented persistence? It rushes like falls over the mountainsides of existence into the void of future. It flows out of the wellspring of the past with fury and untouched conviction.”

The legion gathered before Invictus raised their weapons and bellowed. A powerful, primal sound that that raised the hair on Invictus’ neck. Sometimes he enjoyed prebattle ritual as much as battle itself. He continued.

“But what is Fate to us, Those who have crossed all rivers and reduced mountains to rubble? I spit in the oceans of fate so that it may know my wroth! I am my own maker and by my living I carve my own fate. Do you know me?” He bellowed the last question.

“We know you, First Champion!” The bellowing response rang across the field. Invcictus could see soldiers stomping their feet, and some who carried two weapons clashed them together in exultation.

“Hear me then, I have seen the oceans and rivers of Fate! They are but sputtering streams and trivial puddles to us. We terraform reality with our prowess and bend the preordained into life fit for us, for we are unmatched.”

Invictus volume and energy rose as he spoke. The final line a primal scream that illicted a mayhem of shouts, bellows, stamping and howling from the legion. Invictus knew what to say next. He had experienced it many times from the legions point of view before his rise to Champion of the 1st Legion. The fastest rise in history, he had been told. 

“Who goes with me?” Invictus roared, banging his fist on his chest three times.

“We go with you First Champion!” The roar was deafening. Feet stamped and weapons clashed together. The sound of five thousand soldiers beating their chest, clashing their weapons and stamping their feet reverberated across the battle field. Invictus turned his back to them then, to face the enemy. He bared his teeth and raised his axe above his head.

“Go with me! I lead you to glory and blood, for fate and history are written by the blood thirsty and the victorious!”

Leave a comment